Awards & More at CCMH

Dr. Jentry McLaughlin HeadshotOU Outsdanding Resident of the Year

Dr. Jentry McLaughlin, one of our ER Residents, was chosen by OU as the Outstanding Resident of the year. This is out of all residents who rotated through both our Trauma and OU Trauma. Congratulations to Dr. McLaughlin.



Heather Moore Named New ED Patient Access SupervisorHeather Moore Headshot

Heather worked in developing a “Training Program” that was started from MedAccounts, Business Services and now with Patient Access. This was developed to help with focusing new employees and teaching them the success of learning their jobs before putting them out there to work. Heather has been in the training position for five years and we would like to welcome her into her new role as Patient Access ER Supervisor. Her 20 years of experience will help us take the ED Registration to the next level.

Congratulations Heather and welcome into your new role!


Merinda Rice and the 3 North housekeeping crew with Housekeeping AwardHousekeeping Traveling Award

Donna Wingate, Housekeeping, has started a “traveling award” for the unit that has received the highest Housekeeping HCAHPS score for the closing quarter. This award will be displayed at the unit’s nurses’ station for the following quarter until it is awarded to the next quarter’s winner. It is a way for the Housekeeping Department to thank the Nursing staff for their help. We believe that even though each department is scored separately, it is a joint effort to keeping patients happy, healthy, and satisfied. The closing quarter’s (Oct 2019–Dec 2019) highest score winner is Merinda Rice and the 3 North crew.

Residency Graduation

2019 Emergency Medicine and Family Medicine Graduates

Last Friday, five Family Medicine residents celebrated their graduation and the week prior four Emergency Medicine residents had their graduation. Both residency programs began in 2014 at CCMH. Dr. Karen Schafer, retired physician, was instrumental in getting the Family Medicine program established. Both residency programs are ACGME accredited. Our institutional sponsor is Oklahoma State University. CCMH is excited that some of the residents will stay on as physicians with the hospital. “As a highly under-served area for healthcare it’s important to ensure we have a mechanism to retain qualified physicians for our community and the surrounding areas. Statistics show that 50% of physicians stay in the area where they are trained. It’s a win win program for the residents, the hospital and the patients they serve. We are excited that many of our residents choose to stay with CCMH each year,” said Sharon Smith, Graduate Medical Education Administrator. Congratulations to all the graduates!